Kraguyevats , Servia (Capital) 1911 Profile
KRAGUYEVATS (also written Kraguievatz and Kragu Jevac), the capital of the Kraguyevats department of Servia; situated 59 m. S.S.W. of Belgrade, in a valley of the Shumadia, or "forest-land," and on the Lepenitsa, a small stream flowing north-east to join the Morava. On the opposite bank stands the picturesque hamlet of Obilichevo, with a large powder factory.
Kraguyevats itself is the main arsenal of Servia, and possesses. an iron-foundry and a steam flour-mill. It is the seat of the. district prefecture, of a tribunal, of a fine library, and of a. large garrison. It boasts the finest college building and the. finest modern cathedral (in Byzantine style) in Servia. In the first years of Servia's autonomy under Prince Milosh, it was the residence of the prince and the seat of government (1818-1839). Even later, between 1868 and 1880, the national assembly (Narodna Skupshtina) usually met there. In 1885 it was connected by a branch line (Kraguyevats-Lapovo) with the principal railway (Belgrade-Nish), and thenceforward the' prosperity of the town steadily increased. Pop. (igoo), 14,160.